PHILADELPHIA (WTXF / AP) – From banning smoking on public beaches and parks in New Jersey to a minimum wage increase in Delaware, check out some of the laws going into effect in 2019.
It's been a busy year for Pennsylvania lawmakers who passed more than 180 bills. Among them, a toll hike for Pennsylvania Turnpike drivers. Get ready for a 6% increase for both E-ZPass and cash customers. The hike goes into effect Jan. 6.
READ MORE: Pennsylvania Turnpike approves 6 percent fare hike starting January 2019
There's another new law designed to keep kids safe. The move will allow school districts to install school bus cameras to record drivers not stopping and making illegal passing.
Pa. drivers will also face tougher penalties for repeat drunk driving. Felony charges now for third time offenders with a blood alcohol level of .16 or higher. Some say that it's not tough enough.
In response to multiple suicides at the University of Pennsylvania, look for improved mental health and suicide prevention programs. The law sets new standards and a mental health certification process for colleges and universities across the state.
Pet lovers this one is for you, first responders are now allowed to break into vehicles to save pets from extreme heat or cold without having to pay for damages.
If you got drone for a holiday gift be careful where you fly. A new peeping tom law has increased the criminal penalties for using a drone to spy on someone in the private place.
There's a new law for expectant parents. Babies born in Pennsylvania will now automatically receive a $ 100 college saving account already deposited.
Democratic Gov. Phil Murphy signed the bill banning smoking at the state's public beaches and parks in July, though local communities can opt out and design small smoking sections. The law takes effect Jan. 16. Also, in New Jersey Starting Feb. 1, it will be easier to change genders on birth certificates.
READ MORE: 2019 means puffing on beaches goes up in smoke in New Jersey
The New Year will be a little more prosperous for minimum wage workers in Delaware. A new law taking effect on Jan. 1 raises the state's minimum wage from $ 8.25 an hour to $ 8.75 an hour.