Breaking News
Home / Business / Women's "guilt" over parents who support her, despite $ 150,000 pay

Women's "guilt" over parents who support her, despite $ 150,000 pay



A Millennium Attorney has detailed how she spends her money, including that, despite her huge $ 150,000 salary, she still gets financial help from Mom and Dad.

In a rare honest talk with whimn.com.au about her economy, the Sydney woman made the brutal confession – and added that she was guilty of how generous her parents are.

Here is a full overview of the cash usage for the series How We Spend It.

The Basics

Age: 27

Profession: Lawyer

Industry: Legal

Location: Sydney

Salary: $ 150,000 (including super), plus bonuses. Last year my bonus was around 20 percent, but it depends on how much above the billable target I make.

Pay slip: $ 8000 / month (after tax)

HECS / HELP debt: $ 0 (my parents paid for my university)

Super total: $ 42,300

Debt: $ 0 ̵

1; I pay the credit card every single month. This month I pay $ 1,600 because I spend most of my spending on it.

Savings: $ 120,000. Some of this (less than half) was inherited when my grandmother died last year.

For more stories like this, go to whimn.com.au

MONTHLY EXPENDITURE

Rent: $ 870 / month for my half (my partner pays the other half). We rent our apartment from family, so we do not pay the full market price.

Insurance: $ 0 (my parents pay for my health insurance and I don't have a car).

Accommodation facilities: $ 0 (parents pay water, electricity, etc.)

Phone: $ 0 (work pays)

Other technologies: $ 0. I use my boyfriend's Netflix and Stan accounts, and my parents my pay for Wi-Fi.

Savings: I'm trying to save between 30-50 percent per month, usually between $ 2000 and $ 3500. I also plan to add most, if not all, of my savings and trip to the US later this year . I set a goal in January to save $ 50,000 this year. I'm a little behind the moment, but hopefully my bonus helps.

Investment: I just started placing $ 500 / month on the Vanguard ETF account (a low-managed fund that allows me to invest in a portfolio of ASX 200 shares without having to pick and choose stocks.

I entered $ 10,000 from my bonus last year and have chosen to re-invest dividends, it looked a bit awkward at the beginning of the year when I had negative returns, but on average over the past six months I am up more than 6 percent.

Joint Account: I deposited $ 400 / month and he deposits $ 600 / month just because he earns a little more than me and eats a lot more!

Two gym memberships: one is $ 45 / week (fancy gym) and Other $ 15 / week (home gym)

ANNUAL EXPENDITURE

HEALTH: I added $ 250 a year to the doctor and $ 250 / year for the dentist.

LOGBOOK

DAY EN [19659003] MORNING

I wake up at 06:00 and set course for training room I take a scoop of exercise powder with water and do a Kayla Itsines weight for 40 minutes. The gym is conveniently located about 800 meters from my apartment.

I go home, shower and dress at work. I make a bowl of oats with protein powder, berries and peanut butter. I take the ferry every morning, and my Opal card fills up automatically when it goes low (it seems to be about $ 6 per trip or $ 60 every fortnight).

It's pretty expensive, but nothing beats a harbor trip every morning! I also like to listen to podcasts – today it is Shameless . I arrive to work at 9am and order a soy cappuccino from our subsidized internal cafe ($ 2).

NOON

After a busy morning, I warm up the chicken, fried vegie and the feta salad I brought home from home. I try to cook most of the lunches and snacks because (a) because health and (b) the food situation around the job sucks.

While I eat, I surf through Mecca and decide to order new Drunk Elephant products – Marula face oil, moisturizer and hydration serum ($ 225). I got regular facials, but decided that they were too expensive, so now I blow a little on skin care this year, in an attempt to stave off stress-related wrinkles.

I also order a bottle of champagne and a balloon for my friend and fiance living abroad when I can't get to their engagement party ($ 100).

I work at my desk all afternoon and have yogurt with muesli from home at 3pm.

EVENING

Leave the job at 18 today and take the ferry home once (late night is a common occurrence). Vivid is on, so the trip home is beautiful. My boyfriend and I cook steak with chipotles butter, broccolini and sweet potato gold. I love it when we have time during the week to cook together. We look at some episodes of Love Island and share a guy with Halo Top before going to bed.

DAILY TOTAL: $ 327

DAY TO

MORNING [19659003] Woke up late and skipped the gym. I take a long black with almond milk on the way to the ferry ($ 3.50). I forgot to charge my AirPods so I read – I just started Boy Swallows Universe (I have been told to persist). My goal is to read 25 books this year, but I've only read five so far!

I order a slice of vegemite toast with an almond milk cappuccino from our coffeemaker ($ 5). I feel a little rough today, so decide to take a health park. I browse Amazon and impulsively order a set of Bluetooth scales ($ 23 and $ 9 same day delivery).

NOON

I warm up some baked chicken, green beans, potatoes and sriracha mayonnaise from home, and take a protein drink around 14:00. It's very disgusting: who will mix coffee and yogurt together ?! Someone brought muffins, so I have one and a handful of licorice buns.

I decided this morning that my eyebrows are overdue. I order a fancy deal over lunch for a wax and hue ($ 75). I would like to start getting the nails done regularly again, but just don't know if I can commit myself to the maintenance.

I've tried eyelash extensions lately, and they all fell off one night, so it was a disaster. I've thrown up the tattoo of feather, but I'm not sure if I can justify $ 1000 for it.

NIGHT

My afternoon is completely manic and ends up working until 8pm (sad face). I get a taxi home (work pays) to quickly change. My aunt has invited us to join her and my cousins ​​in a company box for AFL. I chuckle on jeans, boots and a blazer, and my boyfriend orders a Uber to SCG at the common account ($ 22).

I have a couple of glasses of champagne, some canapés and a plate of noodles (all free). We Uber home ($ 25). Joining the economy has saved us so much trouble; I don't know why we didn't do it earlier

DAILY TOTAL: $ 134.30

DAY TRE

MORNING

Thank God it's the weekend! Mom and brother live with us and we go for a walk on the beach. Mom pays for our coffee. We decide to take a late-night breakfast.

I get a "health bowl" with poached egg, smoked salmon, brown rice, avocado, kale and pickle and an almond milk cappuccino. I pick up the tab and my brother pays me half ($ 40).

NOON

I make a bowl of protein oats, blueberries, yogurt and peanut butter and then go to my local gym. The aircon is broken (so it stinks), but I force myself to stay and do 30 minutes of weight and 20 minutes of cardio.

When I get home, my PE Nation order from earlier this week has come. I try a good try and decide to keep a puffer jacket, sweater and singlet, and I get back some leggings and a few sportsmen who aren't sitting right ($ 400). Mom and I binge Real housewives from Beverly Hills on the sofa all afternoon.

NIGHT

I run to the local Woolies to get dinner and joke ($ 60) when we have a few friends over. We make steak with balm mushrooms, rocket and pear salad, along with a cheeseboard. I have a glass of wine (we already had bottles at home) and we have some Easter eggs for dessert.

DAILY TOTAL: $ 500

DAY FOUR

MORNING

Get up at 08:00 and we all go for a walk. We go for breakfast in Paddington. I order rye cheese, poached eggs, avocado and two soy cappuccino ($ 30).

NOON

I go to a local pilates studio and take a class with a couple of friends. I buy 12 class packages when they are on sale for $ 200. It's still expensive and I know I spend a lot of money on fitness, but exercising is one of my favorite hobbies.

I get into the chemist and get a new face cream for Mom and I ($ 100). So we go to Woolies and Mom offers very generously to collect the bill (it came at $ 170 a week). My parents are very generous. Because they take care of a lot of my expenses, I feel guilty if I'm not smart with my money. Basically, I'm also a little worried that I'm not going to have a high income forever and that I'm going to get burnt out.

NIGHT

I go to see Aladdin with my boyfriend ($ 60 for tickets, popcorn and Malteasers at the common account). It's a great way to end the week. Unfortunately when I get home I have some emails to answer, so I spend about an hour doing it before I call it one night.

DAILY TOTAL: $ 154.00

DAY FIVE

MORNING

I wake up and feel unwell. I literally never get sick and am very reluctant to take a day off, but I also hate people who come into the office, so let the job know that I am working from home. I sleep through most of the morning.

NOON

I wake up, make some pumpkin soup and toast and realize that I have a lot of emails to come to and new documents to come out tonight. I don't feel good, but results reviews come out, so I need to push myself through.

NIGHT

My boyfriend comes home, I cook a beef and we go to bed early. This would have been a $ 0 usage day, but I check my bank balance and realize I'm still charged for a HayU subscription, I thought I canceled months ago ($ 6).

DAILY TOTAL: ($ 6)

This article originally appeared on Whimn.com.au and was reproduced with permission


Source link

About admin

Check Also

Why it is not a bubble in real technology company assessments

The argument seems to increase, both locally and internationally, that VC-backed, privately owned technology companies ...

Read moreWhy it is not a bubble in real technology company assessments